Perez, and Mistakes

Photo:Michael McAndrews, Hartford Courant

Here’s what Mayor Eddie A. Perez told the Courant in 2007, just days after state investigators searched his house.

“I want the facts to be out there for the voters,” Perez said in a hastily called press conference Thursday. “It’s important to me that they know that work that was done in my house was fully paid for and that my wife and I look forward to continuing to work on the election.”

But, he said, “in hindsight, I shouldn’t have used a city contractor. That was a mistake.”

Here’s what he said outside of the courthouse Friday after his five guilty verdicts:

“I’m extremely disappointed in the verdict. I maintain my innocence and we plan to appeal.”

And here’s what he says in a statement today:

“It is time to move the City forward.  I am truly sorry for the mistakes I have made that have harmed the City that I love.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

