Hartford And Its Democratic Town Committee

Steve Goode spent a few hours with Hartford Democrats Thursday night as they tried to figure out who will be their next leader.

Sean Arena, who is tight with Mayor Eddie A. Perez, has been the committee’s chairman.  But he’s been taking hits from city blogger Kevin Brookman and chairman-wannabe Bruce Rubenstein, and, in the end, Arena only mustered half of the committee’s votes.  The other half went to Jean Holloway, leaving them each with 33 votes.

Still with us?

Then, someone voted a second time (seriously), the committee called it a win for Holloway, Arena pledged to fight the result, and everyone is headed to state party headquarters today for some advice. Here’s Working Families Party Councilman Luis Cotto’s take on it.

And a reminder:  We care about this because the town committee has great sway over who will be the city’s next mayor.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s